SCCY pistol first impression

I was given the opportunity to shoot a SCCY CPX-2 pistol today. The pistol has been of some interest to me because of its small size, double action only mechanism, and relatively low price point. Many people are price constrained about what they can buy, so inexpensive but serviceable pistols are always of interest to me.

In the past I owned a Kel Tec P11, to which the CPX-2 bears a strong resemblance. I thought the P11 had promise as a pocket pistol for me. I couldn’t have been more wrong. The trigger was so bad that I could never get a split under .50. And it had the annoying tendency to not ignite +p ammo, which made no sense to me but was a well known problem at that time. Finally, I gave up and sold it to someone who really wanted it.

So the SCCY had to have a lot better trigger than the P11 to fill the bill for me. The only real way to test that is to shoot it. Through an unexpected coincidence, a meeting was arranged with the local representative, who met us at Sandy Springs Gun Club and Range with several pistols. He had a number of guns in a large laptop bag, just like I am prone to use as a range bag. He explained some of the features of the CPX-2.

  • Very important to me was that it can be dryfired, which some KelTec pistols cannot.
  • It also has a second strike capability, which I like. Although the standard doctrine upon receiving a click is to tap-rack, gunowners who are not well regulated don’t know what that phrase means, much less how or when to execute it. Having a second strike capability will allow an untrained user the opportunity to simply press the trigger again and maybe get a bang.
  • It’s very easy to disassemble, which cannot be said for the Kahr, another popular DAO compact gun.
  • The CPX-2 has a polymer front sight and a steel rear sight, unlike the P11. The rear sight has two huge white dots on it, which are much larger than the dot on the front sight. I dislike this ‘feature.’ If I bought one, a black Sharpie would be the first thing I would put to it.

As an initial benchmark, I shot a variant of the LAPD Retired Officer Qualification Course. The course consists of 10 rounds shot at seven yards on a silhouette target. My variation is to use two magazines of five rounds each, one of which has a randomly inserted dummy round in it. Shoot five, reload five, and clear the dummy wherever it happens to show up is how I do the drill. I was easily able to shoot the course at speed with only two hits outside the 10 ring.

sccy lapd marked

Although most personal protection incidents occur within seven yards or less, the need to shoot at longer distances is not unknown. My colleague Tom Givens, has documented several armed citizen shootings at distances from 15 to 22 yards, which represent about 5% of his students’ encounters.

To test the SCCY at distances like this, we set a target at 15 yards and fired a five shot group on the torso. I was able to shoot a five inch group, despite the distracting dots on the rear sight and the indoor lighting. Then I moved the target out to 20 yards and fired a five shot group at the head. Although it was only about four inches, it was centered slightly to the right of the head. I fired another group while really concentrating on the rear notch. This group was more satisfactory, with all the rounds hitting the head in a five inch circle. This exercise confirmed for me why I dislike three dot sights so much.

sccy 15 20

I finished by shooting five rounds at seven yards Strong Hand Only, followed by five rounds Weak Hand Only. The group was slightly larger but still acceptable.

The pistol’s handling qualities were good and we experienced no malfunctions. The only issue we encountered was with the slide failing to lock back when a friend shot the pistol also. This occurred because my friend doesn’t have the proper grip habit of keeping his thumb away from the side of the pistol.

9 thumb clears stop paint

The CPX-2 has a full size ‘Slide Hold Lever’ and if the thumb is not kept away from it, the pistol is not going to lock open on the last shot. It would also be easy to bump it up if the thumb were positioned under the lever. The rep said a flat lever was available from the factory.

There is also a laser available from ArmaLaser. The laser comes on when the pistol is gripped and requires no manual pressing of activation buttons.

Overall, after 100 rounds, my impression was quite favorable for an Every Day Carry piece. I may get one and try it out in IDPA to see what I can do with it.

4 responses

  1. Range I work has a rental SCCY CPX2, gets very little use. What little use it did get, would always experience several FTExtract’s & double feeds in a single magazine.

    An NRA Instructor friend bought 2 of the SCCY’s for class guns, same issue(s). A female customer has one as well, you guessed it, same issues. Wound up sending all 4 back to SCCY for repair. Our rental was completely rebuilt, forget what they did to the other 3, but AFAIK, they’re working – for now.

    We have a few NIB SCCY’s for sale, but I never recommend them to folks looking for a defensive pistol, just based on my experience with them. Great warranty, and odds are, SCCY owners will be using that service sooner rather than later.

    YMMV, etc.

  2. Claude – Is there any reason to buy this pistol given the widespread availability of the M&P Shield, especially with the Apex parts available for it? Other than price, that is. Most 9mm Shields that I’ve seen will shoot a 4.5-inch group at 25 yards with the factory sights, firing WWB.

    1. I like a double action gun. I admit that’s a prejudice on my part, given my emphasis on threat management. A second strike capability, especially given the decline in quality of factory ammo, is also something that appeals to me. Even so-called premium ammo is not as good now as it was pre-ammo shortage, IMO. As I said in the article, “tap-rack” is not in the vocabulary of 99% of current gunowners. Subject to verification, my impression is that it is smaller than a Shield. It’s also 4 ounces lighter. The price point is more important than we realize; I hear a lot of potential gunowners say they’ve got $300. Where that comes from, I don’t know, but it’s definitely there.

  3. Dang it Claude, get out of my head. I am getting one of those in to test after trying a rental gun at a local-ish indoor range. That sample of one was reliable for 50 rounds, FWIW.