The Armed Citizen

A writer from Gun Digest contacted me about the Five Year Armed Citizen study TAC 5 year w tables I did a while back. He asked if I would give him a quote about it, so this was my reply.

“Analyzing incidents involving Armed Private Citizens, rather than LE/MIL situations, leads to different conclusions. Common discussion topics among Armed Private Citizens, such as equipment and caliber issues, rarely are the cause of Negative Outcomes. Negative Outcomes result from 1) lack of conceptual understanding leading to poor decision-making, and 2) lack of appropriate and necessary skills, techniques, and tactics.

Carrying and being capable of using a small gun adequately will yield much better results than owning a large pistol that isn’t carried or shot well. More criminals have been planted in the ground by .22s that hit than by .45s that miss.”

PLY22 for TacProf

 

8 responses

  1. This brings to mine what a well known forensic pathologist once told me. His name will go unmentioned, but suffice it to say that I had deposed this doctor severlal times. I was actually on pretty good terms with him in spite of the fact he almost always testified against my clients. This pathologist had expertise in death from unnatural means. He has even published a well recognized 2 volume reference work on the subject. If someone was shot, stabbed hung, electrocuted, beat to death, strangled or given an overdose of drugs, etc., this guy was a go-to guy to find out what killed the deceased and how it was done. One day, after his deposition, we were talking and I said: “Dr. X, you know more about people getting shot that anyone I know. You have seen it all. Tell me. What is the nastiest pistol round you know of?” He paused a few seconds, smiled at me and said: “Well, Dick, I’ll tell you what. It ain’t what you’ve got. It’s where you put it.”

    This is an exchange I used to share with some of my students who felt .22’s were “mouse guns.” After telling this story, I used to ask them if they would like to stand in front of one of those “mouse guns” to see how they felt. None took up the suggestion.

    While a .22 is not my personal cartridge of choice as a defensive round, I seem to recall the OSS in WWII used them as assasination tools as has the more contemporary underworld. Bobby Kennedy died from one, also. I don’t want to be infront of anyone who knows how to shoot a small caliber cartridge. If .22 is what they need because they can’t handle anything else, go for it and lean how to place the round where it does the most good.

  2. Reblogged this on Women and Guns and commented:
    My thoughts exactly, on a 22 caliber gun…It’s not what you’ve got, it’s where you put it.

  3. Is that a Taurus version of the berretta 21A in the pic? I’ve heard nothing but terrible things about the Taurus, but the lack of an ejector (and feeding issues in 3 out of 4 21As, where the round would jam up against the top of the barrel) scared me from carrying it.
    I do like the Ruger SR22 with a +3 follower–14rds of 40gr solid point MINIMAG can be put on a target fast and accurately.

    1. It’s a Taurus polymer version of the 21A. Mine works very well, as does a friend’s. However, another friend’s does not run very well, at all.

      1. I usually have fail to feed problems using 22 LR hollow point ammo in my Ruger Mk 1 and Browning Buckmark pistols, but not with solid points.

  4. Reblogged this on disturbeddeputy and commented:
    I’ve said before that I love my .45 ACP pistols, but while bigger is often better, shot placement it everything. My department mandates what calibers and models we can carry as off-duty guns, but citizens are under no such restrictions. And as I’ve coached my daughter: ‘Shoot until the target changes shape or catches fire.’

  5. I have seen a number of cases over the years while working the street that show exactly this, and so far none in which the intended victim/defender “lost” the event due to their gun being too small.

    While I am a big fan of carrying a service caliber/service grace semi-auto pistol, I have to agree that it’s vastly more important to be in compliance with the first rule of a gunfight, even if that means having a small caliber handgun.

  6. […] Werner, The Tactical Professor, had a great post on the effectiveness of small guns recently, which caused me to write an article on that subject for American Handgunner based on […]

Leave a Reply

